It seems Facebook has finally said they’ll be deleting photos within a “reasonable period of time”. If you didn’t realise, Facebook’s systems were keeping some photos on their content delivery networks (CDN) for as long as three years after you deleted them. So even though you ‘deleted’ those late-night not-so-sober photos from Facebook, they could still have been floating around cyberspace for years afterwards.
Apparently now Facebook has introduced a new photo deletion policy, along with new storage systems that means that content should expire by 30 days at the latest. “However, in some cases the content will expire on the CDN much more quickly, based on a number of factors,” said Fredric Wolens, Facebook spokesperson.
Of course, it should be noted that people don’t actually have access to the photos on the CDN via Facebook once a user deletes them – they’d have to have the direct URL to it. But still…
It seems that other networks such as Twitter and Flickr, would only take mere seconds to delete the photos from their CDN. It seems that Facebook has taken a really long time to sort out this problem.
And the Facebook iOS apps still majorly suck. I’m not impressed Facebook, not impressed.
[Via Ars Technica]